Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 13-875



Emergency Solutions Grant Program

[43 Pa.B. 2615]
[Saturday, May 11, 2013]

 The Department of Community and Economic Development (Department), Center for Community Financing, is anticipating receiving funding through the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) for the Emergency Solutions Grant. The Homeless Emergency Assistance and Rapid Transition to Housing Act of 2009 (HEARTH Act), enacted into law on May 20, 2009, consolidates three of the separate homeless assistance programs administered by HUD under the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act into a single grant program, and revises the Emergency Shelter Grants program and renames it as the Emergency Solutions Grants program. The change in the program's name, from Emergency Shelter Grants to Emergency Solutions Grants, reflects the change in the program's focus from addressing the needs of homeless people in emergency or transitional shelters to assisting people to quickly regain stability in permanent housing after experiencing a housing crisis or homelessness, or both.

 The Department will accept applications from any general purpose units of local government, including cities, boroughs and townships, towns, counties, home rule municipalities and communities that desire to apply on behalf of other municipalities. Priority will be given to nonentitled jurisdictions. However, the Department will consider funding applications received from all eligible government jurisdictions listed previously. Eligible activities include street outreach, shelter, rapid rehousing and homelessness prevention.

 One copy of the application may be submitted to the Department's Customer Service Center, 4th Floor, Commonwealth Keystone Building, 400 North Street, Harrisburg, PA 17120 in accordance with the Department's Single Application requirements. A hard copy of the fully executed application must be sent to the Department's Customer Service Center at the address listed previously and a copy must also be sent to the appropriate regional office. The application window will open on May 10, 2013, and close at 5 p.m. on July 15, 2013. All applications must be submitted under the Single Application process by that time and hard copies of the application must be postmarked by the same date. Applications received prior to or after these dates may not be considered for funding.

 Guidelines and application kit may be obtained by download from the Department's web site at www.newPA. com. A hardcopy of the kit may be received by contacting the Department's Center for Community Financing in Harrisburg at (717) 787-5327, or the Department's regional offices. A copy may also be requested by persons with a disability who wish to submit an application in accordance with the provisions stated herein and who require assistance with that application and persons who require copies of this notice in an alternate format (large type, Braille, and the like) should contact Ed Geiger, 4th Floor, Commonwealth Keystone Building, Harrisburg, PA 17120, (717) 787-5327, to discuss how the Department may best accommodate their needs. The following is the listing of the Department regional offices and the counties they serve:

Regional Offices


Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia Counties

Department of Community and Economic Development
801 Market Street, Suite 6106
Philadelphia, PA 19107
(215) 560-2083


Berks, Bradford, Carbon, Lackawanna, Lehigh, Luzerne, Monroe, Northampton, Pike, Schuylkill, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Wayne and Wyoming Counties

Department of Community and Economic Development
409 Lackawanna Avenue
3rd Floor, Oppenheim Building
Scranton, PA 18503
(570) 963-4571


Adams, Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Lancaster, Lebanon, Perry, York, Bedford, Blair, Cambria, Centre, Clinton, Columbia, Fulton, Huntingdon, Juniata, Lycoming, Mifflin, Montour, Northumberland, Snyder, Somerset and Union Counties

Department of Community and Economic Development
Commonwealth Keystone Building
400 North Street, 4th Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17120
(717) 720-7302


Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Butler, Fayette, Greene, Indiana, Washington and Westmoreland Counties

Department of Community and Economic Development
301 5th Avenue, Suite 250
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
(412) 565-5002


Cameron, Clarion, Clearfield, Crawford, Elk, Erie, Forest, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Mercer, Potter, Venangoand Warren Counties

Department of Community and Economic Development
100 State Street, Suite 205
Erie, PA 16507
(814) 871-4241

Main Office

Center for Community Financing
400 North Street, 4th Floor
Commonwealth Keystone Building
Harrisburg, PA 17120
(717) 787-5327


[Pa.B. Doc. No. 13-875. Filed for public inspection May 10, 2013, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.