Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Code website reflects the Pennsylvania Code changes effective through 52 Pa.B. 6342 (October 1, 2022).

22 Pa. Code § 405.44. Staffing and professional development.

§ 405.44. Staffing and professional development.

 (a)  Teachers of eligible students supported by Program funding shall meet the following requirements:

   (1)  In school districts, teachers shall have early childhood education certification.

   (2)  In Head Start and child care programs, teachers shall possess a minimum of an associate’s degree in early childhood education or child development.

   (3)  In licensed nursery school programs, teachers shall have a minimum of a bachelor’s degree, 18 credits from an institution of higher education in early childhood education and a private academic teaching or temporary approval certificate.

   (4)  By December 31, 2011, all teachers in Program classrooms shall have early childhood education certification.

 (b)  Teacher aides in any classroom of eligible students supported by Program funding shall meet one of the following criteria:

   (1)  Completion of at least 2 years of full-time postsecondary study or the equivalent.

   (2)  Possession of an associate’s degree or higher.

   (3)  Ability to meet a rigorous standard of quality and demonstration of knowledge through a formal state or local academic assessment or possession by the teacher aide of a Child Development Associate’s (CDA) certificate.

   (4)  Teacher aides who work solely as translators shall have a high school diploma or its equivalent, and do not have to meet any of the other requirements of paragraphs (1)—(3).

 (c)  A lead teacher in the Program, including those in community-based settings, including outdoor and indoor play or child directed activities with an Instructional Level I certificate shall convert the certificate to an Instructional Level II certificate within 6 years from the time of initial service as an Instructional Level I teacher in the Program. Teachers holding an Instructional Level I early childhood certificate may count their time working in a Program community-based program toward the 3 years of required experience necessary before converting the certificate to an Instructional Level II certificate, in accordance with the requirements of the Department, including a year’s participation in a Department approved teacher induction plan, six semiannual evaluations and the Department specified continuing professional development credits.

 (d)  Program teachers shall undertake continuous professional development as specified by the Department and, at a minimum, meet the requirements of sections 1205.1—1205.5 of the Public School Code of 1949 (24 P. S. § §  12-1205.1—12-1205.5).

 (e)  Program teacher aides shall take a minimum of 24 hours of continuous professional development as specified by the Department, and in early childhood education and development, each year.

Cross References

   This section cited in 22 Pa. Code §  405.2 (relating to definitions).



No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.


This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Code full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.