Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 99-555



Local Area Designations under the Workforce Investment Act

[29 Pa.B. 1787]

   The Department of Labor and Industry (Department) on behalf of the Governor is publishing the Workforce Investment Act Local Area Designation plan for Pennsylvania. Under the Workforce Investment Act of 1998, Governors are required to designate local workforce investment areas within the state through consultation with the State Board, after consultation with chief elected officials and after consideration of comments received through a public comment process.

   The Governor solicited comments from local elected officials throughout the State and received designation requests covering every County within the State. At its January 28, 1999 meeting, the Team Pennsylvania Human Resources Investment Council, Pennsylvania's State Workforce Investment Board, recommended a multiphase local workforce investment area designation process and recommended 11 local areas to be included in Phase 1 of the designation process.

   The Team Pennsylvania Human Resources Investment Council recommended 12 Local Workforce Investment areas to the Governor in Phase 2 of the designation process at its March 25, 1999 meeting. The following local areas have been identified by the Governor based on the recommendation of the Team Pennsylvania Human Resources Investment Council for inclusion in the Phase 2 designation:

   *  The Counties of Erie, Crawford, Warren, Venango, Forest and Clarion

   *  The Counties of Mercer and Lawrence

   *  The Counties of Mifflin, Snyder, Union, Centre, Clinton, Lycoming, Columbia, Northumberland and Montour

   *  The Counties of Schuylkill and Luzerne

   *  The Counties of Carbon, Monroe, Pike and Wayne

   *  Lackawanna County

   *  The Counties of Dauphin, Lebanon, Perry, Cumberland, Juniata, Franklin, Adams and York

   *  The Counties of Westmoreland and Fayette

   *  The Counties of Indiana, Butler and Armstrong

   *  The Counties of Beaver, Washington and Greene

   *  Allegheny County

   *  The City of Pittsburgh

   Interested parties wishing to comment on the multiphase designation process or on the local areas indicated for inclusion in Phase 2, must do so in writing by the close of business (2 weeks from the date of the Pennsylvania Bulletin). Comments should be forwarded to: Timothy Bittle, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Secretary of Workforce Development and Safety, Department of Labor & Industry, 16th Floor Labor & Industry Building, Seventh and Forster Streets, Harrisburg, PA 17120.


[Pa.B. Doc. No. 99-555. Filed for public inspection April 2, 1999, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.