Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 03-1018


Right-to-Know Law Request Policy

[33 Pa.B. 2569]

   This written policy outlines the proper procedures for requesting records from the Pennsylvania State Police (PSP) under Pennsylvania's Right-to-Know Law (65 P. S. §§ 66.1--66.9). Questions regarding this policy should be directed to the Office of Chief Counsel, (717) 783-5568.

   1.  All requests for records must be in writing and signed by the requester. The request should identify or describe the records sought with sufficient specificity to enable the PSP to ascertain which records are being requested and shall include a name and address to which the PSP should address its response. The PSP will not accept oral or anonymous requests for records.

   2.  All requests for records shall be addressed to Pennsylvania State Police, Department Headquarters, Bureau of Research and Development, 1800 Elmerton Avenue, Harrisburg, PA 17110, ATTN: Supervisor, Policies and Procedures Section.

   3.  All requests shall be in writing and shall be sent to the PSP by mail, facsimile to (717) 772-1435 or delivered in person during the PSP's regular business hours of 8:15 a.m. to 4:15 p.m., Monday through Friday, excepting holidays and official office closings. The PSP will not accept verbal or e-mail requests for records.

   4.  Under the Right-to-Know Law, investigative reports are exempted from the definition of a ''public record;'' therefore, any request will be denied. Criminal history information is not accessible under the Right-to-Know Law but may be obtained through the submission of a Request for Criminal History, Form SP 4-164, which is available on the PSP website ( The PSP does not possess or retain investigative or administrative information for other state or local agencies; therefore, such requests will be denied.

   5.  If a written request for records is granted, the following fees will be charged to the requestor:

1-10 photocopies No charge
11+ photocopies $0.15 per copy
Certified photocopies $1.00 per copy
Redaction $1.00 per page
PC Diskettes $1.00 per diskette
Records fitting into    standard letter envelope No charge
Other types of mailing Actual cost

   A ''photocopy'' is either a single-sided copy or one side of a double-sided copy of a standard 8.5" × 11" page. ''Redaction'' is the eradication of a portion of a document while retaining the remainder where the public record contains information subject to access as well as information not subject to access. The PSP may require a requester to prepay an estimate of the fees listed if the fees required to fulfill the request are expected to exceed $100. All costs must be paid by certified check or money order made payable to ''Pennsylvania State Police.''


[Pa.B. Doc. No. 03-1018. Filed for public inspection May 23, 2003, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.