Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 14-155


Increase in the Accident Surcharge Dollar Threshold (Cap) to $1,550; Notice 2014-01; Correction

[44 Pa.B. 440]
[Saturday, January 18, 2014]

 An error occurred in the notice published at 44 Pa.B. 143 (January 4, 2014). An editorial change in the fourth paragraph altered the meaning of the sentence. The correct version of this paragraph follows. The remainder of the notice was accurate as published.

 Insurers writing private passenger automobile insurance in this Commonwealth may not, by law, penalize their policyholders (for example, apply rate surcharges or otherwise increase premiums) whose aggregate claim cost over a 3-year period does not exceed a certain threshold (cap). This threshold (cap) applies to any person injured or property damaged, and is measured in excess of any deductible or self-insured retention. Effective July 1, 2014, the Insurance Department (Department) has increased the threshold (cap) to $1,550.

 Section 1799.3(a) of 75 Pa.C.S. (relating to limit on cancellations, refusals to renew, refusals to write, surcharges, rate penalties and point assignments) does not allow an insurer to ''cancel or refuse to renew a policy or apply any surcharge, rate penalty or driver record point assignment'' when the threshold (cap) is not exceeded.

 By law, the Department is required to adjust the amount of the threshold (cap) at least once every 3 years. Section 1799.3(e) of 75 Pa.C.S. stipulates that the adjustment be made relative to changes in the Consumer Price Index for medical care and automobile maintenance and repair costs and may be rounded to the nearest $50. The previous adjustment to the threshold (cap) was effective July 1, 2011, when the threshold (cap) increased to $1,450.

 Each individual insurer, ISO, AIPSO and MSO should file the above change for prior approval by April 1, 2014, and specify an effective date of no later than July 1, 2014.

 To expedite the review process, companies are advised to limit their rate/rule filings to the required threshold revision only. Any unrelated changes, revisions and manual pages should not be included in the filing. Additionally, ''surcharge disclosure plan(s)'' required under 75 Pa.C.S. § 1793(b) (relating to special provisions relating to premiums) do not require the Department's review and prior approval and should not be submitted in response to this notice.

 Questions regarding this notice may be directed to James Di Santo, Actuarial Review Division, Insurance Department, 1311 Strawberry Square, Harrisburg, PA 17120, (717) 783-2118,

Insurance Commissioner

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 14-155. Filed for public inspection January 17, 2014, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.