Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 22-1726



Inflation Adjustment for the Fire and Emergency Medical Service Loan Program

[52 Pa.B. 6946]
[Saturday, November 5, 2022]

 This notice provides information about the Fire and Emergency Medical Service Loan Program (Program) established under 35 Pa.C.S. Chapter 73, Subchapter E (relating to Fire and Emergency Medical Services Loan Program) as amended by the act of October 29, 2020 (P.L. 739, No. 91). The loan limits are to be adjusted biannually at the rate of inflation as outlined in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers for the Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD area for the most recent 12-month period for which the figures have been reported by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. In accordance with 35 Pa.C.S. § 7364(b.1) (relating to assistance to fire companies and EMS companies) loan limits are increased by 8.8%.

New Lending Limits and Repayment Terms—VLAP Loans

Maximum LoanMaximum TermPayment
Facility $486,000 or 50% (whichever is less)
30 years
Aerial Apparatus $378,000 or 50% (whichever is less)
30 years
Heavy Duty Rescue
(GVWR 14,700+ lb.)
$270,000 or 50% (whichever is less)
20 years
Apparatus (New) $270,000 or 50% (whichever is less)
(pumpers/tankers/utility/special service vehicles)
20 years
Apparatus (Used) $216,000 or 80% (whichever is less)
20 years
Ambulance* $135,000 or 50% (whichever is less)
0 years
Light Duty Rescue $135,000 or 50% (whichever is less)
20 years
Watercraft Rescue* $37,800 or 50% (whichever is less)
10 years
Rehabilitation $86,400 or 80% (whichever is less)20 years$437.08/month
PennFIRS $4,320 or 50% (whichever is less)
10 years
Equipment $27,000 (once per 5-year period)
10 years

 *New or Used

 New apparatus/ambulance/rescue vehicle manufactured or assembled in this Commonwealth: $20,000 may be added to the previously listed limits. Certification is required from the manufacturer that 75% of the total cost results from the vehicle being manufactured in this Commonwealth.

Summary by Amount

Less than $50,000 10 Years
$50,000—$300,000 20 Years
Above $300,000 30 Years
(Minimum Loan is $3,000) Loans are at 2% interest per annum (Effective 6/2022)

Acting Commissioner

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 22-1726. Filed for public inspection November 4, 2022, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.