Pennsylvania Code & Bulletin

• No statutes or acts will be found at this website.

The Pennsylvania Bulletin website includes the following: Rulemakings by State agencies; Proposed Rulemakings by State agencies; State agency notices; the Governor’s Proclamations and Executive Orders; Actions by the General Assembly; and Statewide and local court rules.

PA Bulletin, Doc. No. 23-1757




Adoption of Amended Rules of Criminal Procedure (Rule 535(D).4); 2023-0047R-CM

[53 Pa.B. 7931]
[Saturday, December 23, 2023]

Administrative Order No. 13-2023

And Now, this 12th day of December, 2023, the following amended Chester County Rules of Criminal Procedure (''Amended Rules'') are adopted in their entirety. In accordance with Pennsylvania Rules of Judicial Administration 103(d)(4), these proposed amended Rules were submitted to and approved by the Criminal Procedural Rules Committee of the Supreme Court.

Effective Date

 These amended Rules shall become effective thirty (30) days from the date of their publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

Procedural Compliance

 In conformity with Pa.R.J.A. 103(d)(5)(ii-iii) and (6), the Chester County Court Administrator shall do the following:

 1) Distribute two (2) paper copies of the Amended Rules to the Legislative Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin, along with a copy of the amended Rules in an agreed upon format which complies with the requirements of 1 Pa. Code § 13.11.

 2) File one copy of the Amended Rules with the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts.

 3) Publish a copy of the Amended Rules on the Chester County website.

 4) Incorporate the Amended Rules in the complete set of the published Chester County Court Rules no later than thirty (30) days following publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.

By the Court

President Judge


Rule 535(D).4. Bail Agency Fee; Return of Bail to Surety.

 Within twenty (20) days after full and final disposition as defined by Pa.R.Crim.P. 534 of a case in which percentage bail has been posted, the issuing authority or the Clerk of Courts shall retain three (3) percent of the first one thousand dollars ($1,000) deposited and two (2) percent of any additional amount deposited, but in no event less than fifty dollars ($50), as administrative costs for the bail agency and shall return the balance to the defendant or an assignee or the third party surety unless the balance is applied to pay a fine and costs of prosecution or to make restitution. The fees to which the bail agency is entitled by law are deemed earned at the time the bail undertaking is executed and the money deposited.

[Pa.B. Doc. No. 23-1757. Filed for public inspection December 22, 2023, 9:00 a.m.]

No part of the information on this site may be reproduced for profit or sold for profit.

This material has been drawn directly from the official Pennsylvania Bulletin full text database. Due to the limitations of HTML or differences in display capabilities of different browsers, this version may differ slightly from the official printed version.